Librarian by Day

Bobbi L. Newman

Earlier this month I attended a Mobius conferernce session about vodcasting in libraries.  I came back all inspired and fired up.  I don’t think our patrons are ready for vodcasting yet but that didn’t stop me from making videos.  Even better is was perfect timing for Flickr allowing 90 second videos that are much better quality than YouTube.

Our reference staff has been talking about proactive reference, empowering patrons to use some of the online tools themselves.  So I started making videos of how to do some basics and posted them on MRRL’s flickr account.   Right now they’re getting a lot of views on Flickr, and we’re getting a wiki set up that is linked from all the OPAC pages so the videos are always available to the patrons from the online catalog 

Does your library have a Flickr account yet?  What other video topics could you cover for your patrons?

Leave a comment